Hello, my name is Tara Smith, and I am an addict… I admit that I hoard my scrapbooking supplies. I admit that I continue to buy more knowing I will never get through half of what I already have in a lifetime. I admit that buying and collecting pretty papers and embellishments is really half the fun for me.

But come on, seriously! It’s really the manufacturers fault right?! They keep coming out with more and more cute products with the latest trends, what’s a girl to do?

I vow to start using up some of my stash and conquer my fears of cutting into that pretty, new piece of paper. I will let go of my anxiety that I will run out of my favorite products. (because honestly, what good are they doing in a drawer? and honestly #2, next release, they will most likely come out with something I am equally in love with.)

I am going to try and feature a post on my blog once a month where I share my current product obsessions. I will chose a “kit” of supplies, loosely following this guideline by Shimelle, and share it here on my blog. I will then attempt to create as many layouts as I can with the given supplies. I may add or subtract an item here and there, depending how the design is going. I do not want to limit myself to only those supplies, because really this challenge is about using up my stash and getting cherished pages complete in the process. I will then share my creations here in the following weeks/days.

Here are my product picks for April:

aprpicks-1

I started with my background papers. I chose the black and white paper from the Maggie Holmes for Crate Paper first. This is the “B” side. I also chose 2 pieces of Bazzill Swiss Dot in Salt(my go-to. obsessed)  and a plain ol’ piece of white cardstock. I often base my layouts on a white background, so these seemed appropriate.

aprpicks-2

Next, I chose my coordinating patterned papers. First, I chose a multi-color print. This Dear Lizzy Lucky Charm paper, Noteworthy, is new to my collection. I knew I wanted to put it to use. I also chose these(listed in order of picture):

aprpicks-3

 

I next chose a large assortment of embellishments, ranging from flat to dimensional. I pulled random pieces from my die cuts bowl. Anything that I thought would work or that grabbed my attention got added to the pile. Here is a list of collections I pulled from:

I did not chose any letter stickers for my kit. The way I create, I chose my title last. I decided that I would leave my whole stash of letter stickers open to use. I did not want to be held to one color or style. I also didn’t want to take the chance of running out of valuable “E’s” on the first layout and be stuck. When I share my layouts created with this kit, I will reference and link any additional supplies that I add to the mix.

embellishments close

This is just the selection of supplies I pulled from my own stash, mixing both old and newer collections. I did not purchase anything new for this kit. The way this challenge is set up by Shimelle, you are encouraged to pick supplies from your own stash to create a kit.

I can’t wait to dig into the one I put together! If you follow Shimelle’s guide or create layouts from a kit, I would love to see your creations! Link me in the comments or tag me on instagram! Happy crafting!